THE

SHELF

About Bookouture

Bookouture is a digital imprint offering BIG publisher expertise, small publisher flexibility and high royalties. We publish bestselling books. We build author brands. We create smart, effective marketing plans for every single title.

We focus on a small number of books – because attention to detail is essential. We want all our titles to be bestsellers – so we treat each of them like one.

Our authors come from around the world and have had many different routes into publishing. We connect stories and readers globally, publishing books that reflect the diversity of the societies we live in.

LEARN MORE

Bookouture Historicals
Secrets of the Tower

Debbie Rix

The Milliner's Secret

Natalie Meg Evans

The Secret Life of Winnie Cox

Sharon Maas

The Girls from See Saw Lane

Sandy Taylor

Last Prophecy of Rome

Iain King

New Releases
The Girl at My Door

Rebekah Griffiths

Inspired by the true crime story of the Rillington Place murders comes a chilling, fictional re-telling of one of Britain’s most infamous serial killers.
Blending the real-life story of notorious serial killer John Reginald Christie with a fictionalised cast of characters, this thrilling mystery is perfect for fans of Gregg Olsen, Louise Douglas and Jess Lourey.

3.99
The Bookbinder's Daugher

Jessica Thorne

The song surrounded her now, the murmuring of the library insistent, and her foot took the first step on the winding stairs. She knew it wasn’t entirely a dream. It was the library calling her, its magic driving her.
An absolutely spellbinding read about long-hidden family secrets and the magic that lurks between the pages of every ancient book. Perfect for fans of The Ten Thousand Doors of January, The Night Circus and The Binding.

3.99
The Girl Across the Wire Fence

Imogen Matthews

1944, Amersfoort Concentration Camp, Holland. Based on a true story, the unforgettable tale of two young lovers who risked everything to keep hope alive in the very depths of hell.
A gripping story of love, betrayal and courage. Readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, The Nightingale and anything by Fiona Valpy will never forget this heartbreakingly beautiful novel and the great sacrifices Saskia and Frans made to change the fate of the world.

3.99
A Lesson in Murder

Verity Bright

When Lady Swift is invited to her old school, she walks through familiar classrooms, finds her favourite books in the library… and surely that’s not a body? Time for a lesson in murder!
A totally gripping and glamorous 1920s cozy! Fans of Agatha Christie, T.E. Kinsey and Rhys Bowen are in for a treat.

3.99
The Italian Girl's Secret

Natalie Meg Evans

An urgent knock on the wooden farmhouse door breaks the midnight silence. Heart racing, she tip-toes down the stairs, draws back the bolts and gazes into the eyes of a stranger. “Please, signorina. I must find a way to send my message. The war depends upon it.”

3.99
The Girl Who Survived

Ellie Midwood

Germany, 1941: “We live together, or we die together.” A novel that will stay with you forever, The Girl Who Survived tells the inspiring true story of Ilse Stein, a German Jew who was imprisoned in a ghetto––and who fell in love with the man she was supposed to loathe.

3.99
The Woman at the Gates

Chrystyna Lucyk-Berger

1944, Germany: Gazing through the barbed wire fence, up to the pale blue sky, Antonia dreams of home: cherry orchards, golden fields, and the man she loves, who she may never see again…
A heartbreaking, inspiring and totally unforgettable story of the unbelievable courage and determination of extraordinary people in the darkest days of war. Fans of Kristin Hannah, Fiona Valpy, and The Tattooist of Auschwitz will be gripped from the very first page until the final, heart-stopping conclusion.

3.99
The Orphanage

Lizzie Page

Shilling Grange Orphanage, England, 1948. She was their only hope. Now they are hers. A gritty, heartbreaking and unforgettable story of love and hope in the darkest of times.

3.99
The War Child

Renita D'Silva

London, 1940. As war returns in earnest, Clara realises she is pregnant and the new life growing inside her provides a glimmer of hope. When her son is born, Clara sees her mother at last in his deep brown eyes. But as bombs begin to fall on the city, she cannot let history repeat itself. To save her son, can Clara let him go? And will she ever find him again in this world on fire?

3.99
The Paris Wife

Meghan Masterson

Paris, 1856. In a world ruled by men, one woman holds the fate of a nation in her hands.
While danger lurks in the shadows, an assassination attempt is made on Napoleon. And Livia’s husband is wrongly accused of treason. The future of France is in peril, and Livia must work with Elisabetta to save the lives of those they love. With Livia’s keen knowledge of medicine and deadly poisons, and Elisabetta’s many connections, the women are a formidable partnership. But can they really trust each other? And how far are they prepared to go?

3.99
Daughter of the Shipwreck

Lora Davies

London, 1820: Nineteen-year-old Mercy, the orphaned daughter of an African prince, has come to live with the well-to-do Dr Stephens and his wife, Catherine, a passionate campaigner for the abolition of slavery.
Someone is silencing all witnesses to the horrors of their past – and they could be next. But Mercy has had enough of secrets. She will have justice – no matter what the cost.

3.99
The Girl in the Striped Dress

Ellie Midwood

Auschwitz, 1942: This unforgettable novel, based on a true story, brings to life history’s most powerful tale of forbidden love. Set within the barbed wire of Auschwitz, a man and a woman fall in love against unimaginable odds. What happens next will restore your faith in humanity, and make you believe in hope even where hope should not exist.
What follows is a love story that was forbidden, that should have been impossible, and yet saved both of their lives––and hundreds of others––in more ways than one.

3.99