top of page
04-09-21-08-34-54_hu.logo.web.png

Pre-order the New Release "The Secret Sister" by Liz Trenow



Book Blurb:


Lizzie tried to put herself into her brother’s shoes, imagining how she might feel facing those same dangers he’d witnessed. Scared as anything, she thought. But if that was what was needed to win the war, she’d do it. As she looked at herself in the mirror, wearing her brother’s coat, she knew in that moment what she must do to protect him.


England, 1944: As Lizzie looks around her twin brother’s room, she’s in a state of shock. In the middle of the night Ed vanished, leaving no forwarding address. Lizzie knows that he was tormented daily by what he witnessed at Dunkirk four years before, helping his father steer their tiny boat to rescue thousands of injured soldiers. He was never the same after that.


Then, Ed’s call-up letter arrives. Instead of being assigned to one of the forces, he’s been told to report for work at a coal mine – one of fifty thousand ‘Bevin boys’ chosen to help produce the fuel to power the nation through the war. If he fails to turn up he will be arrested and tried as a deserter. Staring at his abandoned clothes and knowing how alike they are, Lizzie realises there is a way to save him.


Arriving for training, she meets a fellow Bevin boy named Peter and is instantly drawn to his quiet, thoughtful nature, so unlike the other men who share her dormitory. And as the two start to adapt to their new lives underground, they develop a strong bond.


Lizzie knows the risks she is taking to save her brother. If she grows too close to Peter her secret will almost certainly be revealed, and they will both be imprisoned. But with the war raging and her beloved country at risk, how much is Lizzie prepared to sacrifice to save those she loves the most?


A completely gripping and heart-breaking story of love, courage and a sister’s sacrifice which shines a light on the forgotten heroes of World War Two. Perfect for fans of The Alice Network, The Nightingale and anything by Rhys Bowen.


Book Buy Link: https://geni.us/XbWMM


Release Date: April 3, 2023


Author Bio:



Liz Trenow's latest novel, Searching for my Daughter, is the heartbreaking story of a refugee seeking her only daughter after the devastating disruption of WW2, with powerful resonances to today's refugee crisis in Ukraine. 'Masterful storytelling, immersive locations, and characters that inhabit your heart from the first page' – Gill Paul, author of The Manhattan Girls Liz Trenow is a former journalist who spent fifteen years on regional and national newspapers, and on BBC radio and television news, before turning her hand to fiction. Her previous novels are The Last Telegram, The Forgotten Seamstress, The Poppy Factory (All the Things We Lost in US), The Silk Weaver (The Hidden Thread in US), In Love and War (The Lost Soldiers in US), Under a Wartime Sky (Our Last Letter in US) and Secrets of the Lake. She has been published all over the world and her books have been New York Times and USA today top 20 best sellers. Please go to www.liztrenow.com , follow her on Facebook or join her on Twitter @liztrenow



bottom of page