top of page
04-09-21-08-34-54_hu.logo.web.png

Spotlight Book Blast for "Steel Valley"



Book Title: Steel Valley:

Coming of Age in the Ohio Valley in the 1960s

Author: Jerry Madden

Publication Date: January 20, 2023

Publisher: Potomac Publishing Company

Page Length: 350 pages

Genre: Historical Fiction



Steel Valley: Coming of Age in the Ohio Valley in the 1960s

Jerry Madden

 

Blurb:

For readers of The World Played Chess by Robert Dugoni and Last Summer Boys by Bill Rivers

Love is never easy...even in easier times, like the 1950s and 1960s in the Ohio Valley with the steel industry booming.

Second-generation immigrant families were reaching for the American middle class. And Catholic schools-made feasible by selfless Catholic nuns-promised bigger lives for everyone, including Jack Clark and Laurie Carmine. As they spent years searching for their separate futures, though, they were also stumbling toward love just as their world came crashing down.

Steel Valley depicts a story of love longed for, lost, and perhaps still within reach, just as our nation's mythic yesterday became our troubled today, our last summer of innocence.

 

Buy Link: 

 

 

Author Bio:

 



Jerry Madden grew up in the Upper Ohio Valley in the 1960s. He holds a B.A. from the College of Steubenville and law degrees from the University of Dayton School of Law and the Georgetown University Law Center. After law school, Jerry served as the sole law clerk to the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Ohio, C. William O'Neill. He served in the United States Marine Corps (R) between 1970 and 1976.

 

Jerry has practiced law in Washington, D.C., since 1979, including fourteen years at the Department of Justice as a trial and appellate attorney. He is the principal of The Madden Law Group PLLC in Washington, D.C.

 

He lives in Northern Virginia with his wife, Cyndi, a retired educator. They have two children, Kelsey and Jack, both of whom hold M.Ed. degrees. They have one grandchild, Jamie Maclennan.

 

Author Links:

 


Follow the Book Blast:




Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


Thank you very much for hosting Jerry Madden with his fabulous novel, Steel Valley, today.


Take care,

Cathie xo

The Coffee Pot Book Club

Like
bottom of page